Panoramic photos

Snowy clear morningI don’t keep up to date with the latest mobile phones, I just want something that calls, texts, and takes the occasional photograph. Recently my phone provider upgraded my phone to a Nokia 6500c and I am impressed with it. Scarily it now has a higher resolution camera than my proper digital camera which I purchased 4 years ago. The photo results on the 6500c are impressive for a mobile (well to me anyway).

I was mucking about with the phone playing with the camera and decided to try a panoramic shot to see how it turns out. First problem is my phone doesn’t do panoramic (I can’t find the option if it does and I ain’t going to RTFM).  I grabbed a few photos of the gorgeous wintery weather we are having at the moment and made sure each shot had about 20% of an overlap.

Next I opened Windows Live Photo Gallery* and imported the photos. I then selected the four photos and from the Make menu selected Create a panoramic photo.. The software done its magic, I gave the new creation a file name and this is the result:  🙂

Click for full suer size

Click for full super size

I must learn how to move the camera in a straight arc when taking photos though as the results show how much I moved it vertically. Cool bit of software and impressive quality photo for a mobile phone.

*I think the default install of Windows Photo Gallery on XP and Vista is different from Windows Live Photo Gallery as it doesn’t have the ‘Make’ menu. The update at the link above does have the extra features. A little confusing.

Leave a Reply

